Board of Directors and Committees

Central Okanagan Foundation is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors.


From the back, left to right: Bruce Davies (Executive Director), Craig Gronsdahl, Steven Tuck, Chad Krahn, Kyleen Myrah, Alison Moscrop, Peter Borszcz, Brian Sanders 

From the front, left to right: Sharon McCoubrey, Melanie Hall-Szyszkiewicz

Regrets: Jill Hilderman, Gwen Zilm

The Central Okanagan Foundation has five standing committees:
  1. Board Executive Committee

  2. Community Engagement Committee

  3. Grants Advisory Committee

  4. Human Resources Committee

  5. Investment & Finance Committee

  6. Organizational Development Committee

Board Chair

Melanie Hall-Szyszkiewicz, Board Chair

Melanie is a Certified Financial Planner (CFP) with the Financial Planners Standards Council of Canada as well as an Elder Planning Counselor (EPC). Melanie has volunteered with COF for 11 years since she transferred with her company, Investors Group Financial Services Inc., in Calgary in 2002.

Melanie has volunteered with the COF Grants Advisory Committee, as well as served on the COF Board of Directors for 4 years. She believes that The Central Okanagan Foundation is the ultimate destination for philanthropists to support and give back to the quality of life in their community, knowing their gift will strengthen the Central Okanagan region through the COF’s granting programs.


Sharon McCoubrey, Vice-Chair

Dr. Sharon McCoubrey is an Associate Professor in the Faulty of Education at UBC Okanagan, and serves as Coordinator of Community Engagement. Her specialization is art education and she does research in the areas of art education, intergenerational learning, aboriginal learning and public art. . She has written a number of art education resource books, and has been given a number of awards for her work in art education and public art.

She is the Chair of the COF Grants Advisory Committee and has served on the COF Board of Directors for many years. Sharon has served as Chairperson of the Lake Country ArtWalk festival for 16 years, and leads work in Public Art, the Lake Country Art Gallery, and the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan.


Brian Sanders, Treasurer

Brian Sanders is a Chartered Professional Accountant who is a tax partner with Crowe Mackay LLP. He provides taxation services to owner managed businesses as well as other organizations.

Brian began his volunteering with COF on the Investment Committee in 2010 and joined the COF Board of Directors as Treasurer in 2011.

Past Chair

Craig Gronsdahl, Past Chair

Craig Gronsdahl is a Chartered Professional Accountant who specializes in financial planning and wealth management for his clients.

Craig has volunteered for a number of not-for-profit organizations and joined the Central Okanagan Foundation board in 2007. He has served on the Finance and Investment Committees and became Chairman of the COF in 2012.


Jill Hilderman, Director

Jill Hilderman is an Internationally-Accredited business communicator. Through her consultancy she supports clients in BC and Alberta by providing strategic communication services. A lifelong volunteer, Jill was previously a member of the COF Communications Committee and joined the Board of Directors in 2012.


Peter Borszcz, Director

Peter Borszcz is a lawyer and shareholder of Pihl Law Corporation focused on business law, corporations, commercial transactions, commercial real estate, residential real estate, estate planning and trusts. As a Kelowna Real Estate Lawyer, Peter has a wide variety of real estate clients from first time home buyers to large commercial developers. Peter’s practice as a Kelowna Business Lawyer focuses on local owner managed business including incorporated professionals and franchisers.

Peter has been involved with the Central Okanagan Foundation since 2009, first as a member of the Organizational Development Committee and since 2013 as a member of the Board.

Kyleen Myrah,

Dr. Kyleen Myrah is an educator, professional speaker, entrepreneur and active volunteer in her community. She is a Professor of Business at the Okanagan School of Business at Okanagan College teaching in the areas of marketing, management and entrepreneurship. She is also President of KyCo Management, a professional speaking and corporate training company speaking on topics such as mentorship, leadership, communication and social entrepreneurship. Kyleen was previously a member of the COF Governance Committee and joined the Board of Directors in 2013.


Steven Tuck, Director

Dr. Steven Tuck is the founding President of the OUC/OC Foundation, Named President Emeritus, O.C. Foundation in 2010. Holds degrees from McMaster University, York University, OUC (B.A. Hons., B.B.A. Hons, D.Litt.) and graduate studies at UNBSJ and INSEAD, Fontainebleau, France. Proudly bilingual Canadian. Publisher/owner of Forever Young. Dr. Tuck joined the COF Board in November 2013.


Chad Krahn, Director

Chad is a Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) and Investment Advisor with National Bank Financial. Chad is a graduate of the University of Calgary Faculty of Business where he completed a B.Comm specializing in finance. In his career he has worked in many facets of the investment management industry and in his current role he provides wealth management and financial planning advice to his private clients.

Chad began volunteering with the COF in 2010 and is the current chair of the COF investment committee. Chad joined the COF board of directors in 2014.


Alison Moscrop, Director

Alison is Past Chair, and a volunteer Board Director for the United Way of the Central & South Okanagan/Similkameen. She earned the United Way's "Volunteer of the Year" Award in 2012, and she has recently been nominated for the Community Leader in the Central Okanagan Awards, in the Above & Beyond category.

Wearing her "funder's hat" , Alison was Chair of the United Way's Allocation/Community Investment committee for 2 years. Her 5 year involvement on this committee provided her the opportunity to meet with many of the United Way's 25+ community partner agencies, including their Board members, throughout the Central & South Okanagan.

Alison sits as a Director on her family's private foundation board for The Colin & Lois Pritchard Foundation. She believes her family's foundation has very similar goals as the Central Okanagan Foundation, giving back to the community in which we live.


Gwen Zilm, Director

Gwen Zilm, BA(UBC), MLS(Toronto) is a librarian by profession and a retired learning services administrator (UBC Okanagan). She has lived in Kelowna since 1981 and has been actively engaged in the community since her arrival.

She most recently served as board chair for the Kelowna Community Music School, and has also led the United Way campaign at the UBC Okanagan campus and been active as a member of the Kelowna Rotary Club. She is the recipient of the Kelowna Rotary Club Vocational Service Award and the Blackwell Award for Outstanding Canadian Academic Librarian.






would not be able to undertake the valuable work that we do without our wonderful volunteers!